Smaller Default Larger

The Government House, a beautiful French-colonial architecture located at Place d' Armes in Port Louis. The Office of the President was established under the Constitution. The President is the Head of State and Commander-in-Chief of the Republic of Mauritius.


The mission of the Office of the President is to assist the President of the Republic in their responsibility to preserve, protect and defend the constitution and to promote National Unity.


The objectives of the Office of the President are to issue writs of elections, organize the protocol to put in place the Government of the day and the Leader of the Opposition, the Rodrigues Regional Assembly and the Executive Council and also for the opening of the National Assembly and the prorogation or dissolution thereof. The Office holds various activities/functions to mark events such as the National Day Celebration, Open Day etc. It processes files for the proper functioning of institutions as provided for under the Constitution (Public Service Commission, Electoral Supervisory Commission, Electoral Boundaries Commission and Others), the petition of prisoners to be considered (Commission on the Prerogative of Mercy,) the presentation of credentials by Ambassadors and High Commissioners to Mauritius and the appointment of Principal Representatives of Mauritius abroad. The Office is also responsible for the upkeep and maintenance of the official residence of the President comprising some 240 acres of grounds.